Grandmas Apple cake – Traditional Danish cake

Some of you may wonder why I haven’t posted until this afternoon, main reason was that Toddler “Blip” hasn’t been feeling too well this weekend. A “lovely” tommy bug, which I’m praying that I’m not getting. Being 37 weeks pregnant I really do not need that. The husband also wasn’t feeling too well.

Anyhow, today, Monday and Toddler “Blip” seems much much better, but I decided it probably was better to keep him home from nursery today. So, he requested to bake a cake, this definitely indicates he is better. How proud he was when we finished baking that cake!

I have been looking through, some old recipes, I got from my dad, they belonged to my grandma and are mostly written on small random pieces of paper and very few instructions. Therefore, I had to use a bit of my baking knowledge and the memories I got of apple cake. I never met my paternal grandparent as they passed away before I was born. But this type of cake is very popular back home or at least it used to be. I have baked it a few times now and made sure to perfect the recipe.


Really, it’s more of an Autumn cake I would say but you can bake it at any time, served nicely on a lovely plate a cup of tea and with whipped cream, this is so cosy or as you would say in Denmark, it is proper Hyggeligt!

The recipe card said use down fall apples, I think this was meant to be in Autumn, when you collected the apples from the trees and they were a bit bruised etc. I just used some wrinkled apples we had in the fruit bowl, I always seems to end up with some that are a bit wrinkled.

By the way, as you can see the kitchen was a proper mess, why? because, I didn’t follow any of my own guidelines for cooking with a toddler… LoL.. yes, there is a reason I normally follow them. I think that pregnancy is making my brain a bit fuzzy!

Grandmas Apple cake

Serves: 9 pieces

Ingredients:

3 apples
1 ½ tbsp cinnamon
2 eggs
125 g unsalted butter
250 g granulated sugar
250 g plain flour
2.5 tsp baking powder
150 ml milk

Topping:

1 apple
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tbsp granulated sugar

Method:

Start by peeling and cutting 3 of the 4 apples into squares, add to a bowl, mix with the cinnamon and leave to the side. Peel and cut the remaining apple in to thin wedges, leave for the top of the cake.

Melt the butter in a pot, whilst melting combine the eggs and sugar in another bowl and mix with a hand mixer until it is a white and airy mixture.

Then mix in the flour (I don’t sieve it), baking powder, milk, and melted butter when all combined you should add the apple pieces. Make sure it is well combined.

Pour the mixture into a baking tray lined with baking paper 9”x9” (23cmx23cm) approximately.  Then add the reserved apple wedges to the top and sprinkle cinnamon and sugar over the top.

Bake for approximately 1 hour at 180C in fan oven or until a knife/skewer comes out clean.

This can be eaten straight away and warm, or you can serve it with whipped cream or I seem to remember it was served with Crème Fraise.  Alternatively, you could just eat it as it is.

Bon appetite – as my granddad would have said

Costings:

These has been based on Tesco’s prices and the basic products where possible (Correct as per July 2017) – I would recommend for spices to look in your local Asian grocery stores, you can get it much cheaper.

Ingredients:

Apples 60p (6 in a packet for 89p)
Cinnamon 40p (if you buy it from an Asian Grocer it is much cheaper)
Eggs 16p
Sugar 17p
Butter 65p
Plain flour 9p
2.5 tsp baking powder 8p
Milk 7p

Total: £2.22, (per piece 25p)

 

6 thoughts on “Grandmas Apple cake – Traditional Danish cake”

  1. It’s very good! The hubby, who’s a big apple pie fan, was sceptical at first about apple cake. Now he loves it! Thank you! Two points to add to your recipe: at which point to add in the butter and whether to sieve the flour.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh you made it! How exciting. Ohh I’ll update that on the blog when I get a moment.
    I don’t sieve the flour though,. 🙂 and I’ll update when butter goes in!!
    I’m being a bit quiet on the blog front currently as it seems im in early stages of labour and food currently does not agree with me.. 😬😬
    But hopefully baby boy will soon make his arrival lol. Xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

